Contact Info

Eskom load reduction: Four provinces affected on Saturday 22 August

Eskom announced on Saturday 22 August that load reduction will be implemented across South Africa once again to “avoid overloading the network and damage to our infrastructure in high-density areas”.

No load reduction will be implemented in Gauteng today but the following provinces will be affected.

Load reduction will be implemented in Limpopo, Mpumalanga, Free State and KwaZulu-Natal between 17:00 and 21:00. The power utility urges residents to switch off all electrical appliances during this time.


For Limpopo, Eskom wishes to notify customers in Mopani District that it will implement load reduction in the following areas:

Point / Feeder name Affected areas
Makhutswi / Legalameetsi Part A Ofcolaco, Wild Hawk Farm, Pu-Toit Farm, Living Waters Farm, Loofdal, Nasionale, and portions of Trichardtsdal.


Eskom also warned that load reduction will be implemented in Ehlanzeni District in Mpumalanga, due to the same issues as mentioned above. It’s suggested that residents switch off and unplug appliances during this time.

The following areas in the Ehlanzeni District will be affected:

  • Health Centre, Springs, Shangaanhill, Matengteng, Mandela
  • Orinoco A, Hlamalani, Chris Hani, Ndlamakhosi,Baromeng, Orinoco B, Orinoco C, Demulani, Sibambayani
  • Garelane, Voilet Bank, Rainbow, Majembeni, Shalden
  • Bulk point of supply at KC29/1, Sucrose substation
  • Matsulu and three camps in Kruger National Park
  • Arthurstone, Tsuvulan, and New Forest


Eskom said it is “currently […] battling to keep up with the increased equipment failure” in the area, and that it is “costing millions to repair”. Therefore, load reduction will be implemented during peak hours on Saturday.

“Overloading of networks lead to damage to the electricity infrastructure through explosions in overloaded transformers and mini substations”.

Point / Feeder name Areas affected
Emnambithi / Ladysmith Ezakheni
Ethekwini Sterkspruit
Hlabisa, Mfolozi, Mtubatuba, Ntambanana Ntuthunga, Canaan, Dondota, Dondotsha, Embaba, Homeleigh Estate, Juba, Khangelani, Klonge, Kwamtetwa, Lunguza, Makhube, Mbude, Mfuyeni, Nkwazene, Rietbokrand, Sabhuza, Silveroak Estate, Volamahlo, Settlers, Buya, Wag-‘n-Bietjie
Maphumulo, Umvoti Mountain View, Ntunjambili, Untunjambili Mission, Cairndhuna, Drunten Ranch, East Slopes, Linklater
Msunduzi Ashdown, Phayiphini, Imbali, Mount Partridge, Edendale, KwaPata, Sitebisi, Slangspruit, Blackiston
uMhlatuze Madlanghala, Bhiliya, Ndleleni

Free State

Eskom urges residents not to log faults during the reduction period, and to treat all installations as live. The following areas in Lejweleputswa District in the Free State will be affected.

Point / Feeder name Areas affected
Bahale SW Stn – Beta Part of Maditshakane
Bahale SW Stn – Charlie Part of Maditshakane
Bahale SW Stn – Delta Part of Maditshakane

Also read — Eskom releases frozen funds back to struggling municipality

Help support journalists, the guardians of independent journalism, through our student media initiative that gives a voice to students and their generation! Find out more…

Tags: EskomKwaZulu-NatalLimpopoload sheddingMpumalangaSouth Africa